Uncategorized

Me time indulgence.

After a long day at the office or chasing kids and pets around, you need some time to decompress. As a new mom, I haven’t had the chance to do this very often. Just when I think I can take some much needed me time, my son wakes up or the phone rings or the washing machine beeps to remind me that there is still work to be done.

These days, everyone seems to understand that stress kills. And hurts. And drains. But it is still a challenge for most people to take some time for themselves and clear the mind of chatter and worry.

If you’ve taken a break from your me time indulgence lately, here are a few good reasons to get back on it:

  • You may actually feel less rushed with your other tasks. If fact, it may help you slow down. Slowing down can help you become more focused and change the way you address problems.
  • You will reduce that feeling that you are missing something by actually taking the time to be on your own and do something for yourself. You may find that you are better equip to help those you love when you are in a more peaceful state.
  • Enjoying a quiet moment to yourself is a great way to learn to let go of the stress of the day. This can help you feel more at ease with your challenges, family and friends and may help you sleep better.

 

There is this misconception that a me time indulgence includes spending hours out of the house or spending money to help someone help you relax but this doesn’t have to be the case.

Do you find gardening relaxing? That can be a me time indulgence! Does reading a book make you feel like you’ve been somewhere else? Does baking or cooking

Regardless of the activity, doing something you enjoy for yourself can make a big difference in how you view your week. You may go from feeling drained to feeling motivated or inspired because you’ve had that time to let your mind wander.

My favourite me indulgence is a hot bath.

bathtub-902362_640

It’s cheap and definitely cheerful. Here are the ways I jazz up my me time indulgence at home:

  • Play relaxing music. YouTube has a plethora of spa tracks to make you feel like you really are at the spa.
  • Light a candle. Lavender and eucalyptus can change the aroma in the room and help you feel relaxed.
  • Add Epsom salt. Epsom salt can relieve muscle cramps and pain.
  • Dim the lights. It can help you get into a deeper state of relaxation.
  • Bring a book or magazine. It’s a great time to get in a few chapters uninterrupted (hopefully!).

Try it just once. It might take your week from good to great!

One thought on “Me time indulgence.

  1. Very important to get that much needed “me time”. As a father I too can relate to this. For me its finding that time to play music and practise on my guitar. Once I do that I put my mind in a relm of creativity and that cleanses the soul. We all need a little “me time”!
    #metime

    Like

Leave a Reply

